Match Reports 9 January - 6 February 2023

The Tuesday Club anglers ventured out in terrible weather on 10 January to do battle with the carp at Willmotts. This time only five souls turned up but once again the venue rewarded their efforts. Phil Lush took the honours with 41lbs 8oz with regular John Ambrose 2nd with 24lbs 8oz. In total 106lbs 12oz was weighed in – outstanding.

With frozen conditions at Willmotts the Tuesday Club decided to venture out on different days during January. Their next outing tempted 7 anglers on 21 January and the venue fished well. 94lbs were put on the scales overall but once again Phil Lush managed the most with 31lbs with Tony Holdsworth second with 22lbs.

A week later on the 28th January the conditions were better and 11 anglers turned up. The venue seemed to not like the extra pressure as only 88lbs in total was caught. Rob Stephens won with a disappointing 17lbs 8 oz with Paul Leek second just 8oz behind.

Back to Tuesdays after this and on 31st January 9 anglers turned out. The venue seemed to find itself again and 131lbs was shared between them. This time George Callaghan prevailed with a weight of 49lbs followed by John Berry on 19lbs 8 oz.

RDAA held its Canal Championship match on 5th February and there was great excitement as this also was the final match to determine the aggregate weights and points for individuals as well as the club championship for this season.

25 anglers fished a slightly coloured canal at Froxfield and a total of 91lbs 4oz was caught. The match was won by Thatcham Angling Centre Proprietor Tony Franklin. Fishing on the bottom peg on the straight on Froxfield "A", (Wides) Section, Tony banked one Bream of 4-0-0 and five Skimmer Bream, fishing ground bait feeder tactics, feeding ground bait and caster, with double red maggot on the hook to record a weight of 11lbs 1oz.

Dave Cowley was second overall. Drawn on the first peg downstream from "Lock 68" on Froxfield "A", (Wides), Section, Dave banked mainly Perch with one Skimmer Bream, fishing a combination of pole and bomb tactics, feeding pinkie and ground bait, with single red maggot on the hook to record a weight of 9-13-0.

Congratulations to Mark Hornblow who won B Section on the Short pound with 8lbs 9oz, Richard Rosinski who took C section with 2lbs 12 oz and Pete Godfrey who recorded a respectable weight of 4lbs 11oz to win on the dreaded D section.

The overall Club Championship was won by Tilehurst British Legion with a total weight of 135lbs 6oz 12drs. Second were Reading Fishing Club with 65lbs 14oz and Courage were third with 49lbs 10oz 8drs.

The individual aggregate weight trophy was won by the outstanding Justin Mabere with 33lbs 13oz all caught on the three matches he took part in at Froxfield. Martin Hutchins was second with 28lbs 9oz 8drs., and third was Tony Tibble with 25lbs 5oz.

The individual aggregate points trophy was won by Martin Hutchins with 52 points and a higher weight overall than Richard Rosinski who was second also on 52 points. Pete Godfrey, Fred Jones, Rob Stephens and Tony Tibble all finished third with 40 points.

INDIVIDUAL AGGREGATE WEIGHT TROPHY

INDIVIDUAL AGGREGATE POINTS TROPHY FINAL POSITIONS

FINAL POSITIONS

Justin Mabere	33	13	0
Martin Hutchins	28	9	8
Tony Tibble	25	5	0
Duncan Bales	25	4	4
Paul Leek	23	12	0
Rob Stephens	23	11	8
Phil Allen	21	1	8
Richard Rosinski	20	14	0
Peter Godfrey	19	15	0
Alan Hughes	18	10	0
Tony Franklin	18	6	0
Fred Jones	16	2	8
Mark Hornblow	16	1	8
Ian Claridge	14	9	0
Tony Roberts	13	4	0
Gordon McGee	13	3	0
Mick Donohoe	13	1	0
Steve O'Keefe	11	15	8
Dave Cowley	11	12	0
Spencer Couzens	11	0	0
Graham Hawkins	9	15	0
Aaron Phillips	9	14	0
Dave Ward	9	0	0
George Callaghan	7	13	8

Martin Hutchins	52	Points
		(28-9-0)
Richard Rosinski	52	Points
		(20-14-0)
Peter Godfrey	40	Points
Fred Jones	40	Points
Rob Stephens	40	Points
Tony Tibble	40	Points
Phil Allen	34	Points
Duncan Bales	34	Points
Alan Hughes	34	Points
George Callaghan	28	Points
Gordon Mc'Gee	28	Points
Paul Leek	26	Points
Justin Mabere	24	Points
Aaron Phillips	24	Points
lan Claridge	22	Points
Dave Finn	22	Points
Mick Donohoe	20	Points
Geoff Eley	20	Points
Tony Franklin	20	Points
Graham Hawkins	20	Points
Tony Roberts	18	Points
Spencer Couzens	16	Points
Steve O'Keefe	16	Points
Dave Ward	16	Points